Why I journal – #30happydays

Something that really makes me happy is keeping a journal. I’ve been doing it since I was about 8, and I have tons and tons of diaries and notebooks filled with my ramblings. For the first couple of years it was really all about writing “I don’t know what to write, hello, my name is Noemi”. Then with time passing and me growing up, my life became a little more exciting and I started writing actual dialogues I had with people, or making lists of things happened during the day.

One of the benefits I get from journaling is that it keeps written down and safe a lot of stuff you would otherwise forget, and going back to the pages after a while feels great! We all have things we would never want to forget, and this really helps with all the details that are easy to forget but that make the said event so special. It’s like living again the memories from the past and it really makes me smile every time.

Going back through your journal is also helpful to better understand yourself. Some situations don’t really make sense in the heat of the moment, you may be crazy upset or sad, or too happy or whatever you feel, but when you look at them from the outside it all starts to come together, and you can really see the bigger picture.

I personally find venting really therapeutic, so IF I CAN I try to write down everything that is driving me mad before doing or saying anything stupid out of impulsivity. Same thing when I’m sad. I turn on some music and I write down how I feel. Somehow putting those words out of my head relieves me and makes me lighter. It’s like cleaning my head and better organising my thoughts.

Another thing that comes with journaling is that you can go back and really appreciate your life as it is. Sometimes I tend to see everything negative, but then I remember how great my life is, reading it black on white in the journal, and I feel better.

This also lets you see how much you grow and mature over time. Even just by reading how you put words together in a sentence shows you the changes you go through in life. The way of writing changes, the way you face your daily situations, the things you want to write down. From my lists of events, I now write pages and pages of feelings and thoughts connected to those events.

I think in 20 years I’ll enjoy even more reading my diaries, and this is why I don’t plan on stopping any time soon. Ever, actually.

Do you journal?

Write and clean the mind,
Noemi

8 thoughts on “Why I journal – #30happydays

  1. Writing in a journal is one of my favourite things to do. I was always one of those people who bought a tonne of notebooks even if I never needed one but somehow filled them up with ramblings, feelings, dreams, goals and it kind of helps vent whilst also fuelling me to keep working towards goals when I have them written down! 🙂

    http://sashacharmainexo.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  2. Totally agree! I kept a diary fairly consistently from the ages of 9 to about 14. It’s hilarious and enlightening (and rather embarrassing) to go back and read through some of the things I thought were great catastrophes or massive triumphs. My writing habit moved online and into structured planners over the years, but I love that I can always look back on those simpler times! Thanks for taking me back 🙂

    Hillary | http://www.flinntrospection.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

